FAQ

How do I get a real estate license?

1. Successfully complete the pre-licensing course. The course is offered in classroom and online formats.

2. Submit a state application along with electronic fingerprints.  All applicants must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalency, and a valid social security number. Visit www.myfloridalicense.com for more licensing information.

3. Pass the state exam. Our program is designed to enable you to pass your state exam with ease and obtain your real estate license.  MerrickDamon Real Estate School’s staff and instructors are here to guide you and make this process easy for you.

Salesperson’s Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have high school diploma or GED
  • Complete and pass the state approved 63 hour Sales Associate Pre-License course
  • Submit application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fee
  • Pass the state exam

Exceptions to the above

  • Attorneys with a current Florida Bar Card
  • 4 year Degree in Real Estate

Broker’s License Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have high school diploma or GED
  • Complete and pass the state approved 72 hour Brokers Pre-License course
  • Hold an active Sales Associate license for 24 months out of the past 5 years
  • Completed applicable post license education
  • Submit application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fee

Exceptions to the above:

  • 4 year Degree in Real Estate
  • Mutual Recognition – Non Florida Residents Only
  • Mutual Recognition Agreements

Florida has mutual recognition agreements with 8 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska and Oklahoma. If you live in one of those states, you may not need to take the course. A 40-question test on Florida real estate law will be required.

Is MerrickDamon Real Estate School Licensed?

MerrickDamon Real Estate School and instructors are licensed and permitted by the Florida Real Estate Commission, and the Georgia Real Estate Commission to teach real estate pre-license, post-license and CE credit courses in each respective state. Our instructors have over 25 years of experience and have sold over 300 million in real estate combined.

What is our refund policy?

Please read our registration policies very carefully. When registering for any course with MerrickDamon Real Estate School, you are agreeing to these terms. Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns about the following policies.

  • Payments are refundable, less a $50 cancellation fee plus cost of materials, for up to 7 days from date of initial payment. Thereafter, monies may be applied to a future class for up to six (6) months from date of initial payment after which time all funds will be forfeited without further notice EXCEPT in the case of students failing to show for their scheduled class (no shows) whereupon all funds will be forfeited immediately.
  • NO REFUND will be considered for students who have attended any part of a class.
  • NO REFUND for online courses.
  • Once issued, books are NOT returnable, refundable or exchangeable.
  • Your class may be video monitored and recorded.
  • We reserve the right to reschedule your class if registration does not exceed our 5 student minimum.
  • Registration indicates understanding and acceptance of this policy.
2017 Schedule